First Line Friday: The Art of Eavesdropping

It’s time for First Line Friday, hosted by Hoarding Books. Grab the book nearest to you and share the first line. The book we’re featuring on Diversity Between the Pages is The Art of Eavesdropping (The Sidekick’s Survival Guide Book 1) by Christy Barritt!

And the first line is…

I used to feel I had the whole world in front of me.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Missionary kid Elliot Ransom is restless after moving from her beloved Amazon home to a wealthy DC suburb. Though Storm River, Virginia, is beautiful, it’s also a playground for haughty politicians and wealthy playboys. She’s never felt so out of place.

Becoming an assistant to a hotshot private investigator changes everything . . .

Expecting to help with filing and background checks, Elliot is shocked when she’s catapulted into the frontlines of a murder investigation instead. While trying to prove their client innocent, she’s forced from the administrative role she usually plays. The change is surprisingly invigorating.

Learning the art of investigating shouldn’t be so dangerous . . . but this case just might be as dicey as the new town Elliot is living in. Could a little harmless eavesdropping lead to a big disaster?

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Let me know the first line of the book closest to you and then head over to Hoarding Books to see who else is participating!


Post by contributor Allyson

4 thoughts on “First Line Friday: The Art of Eavesdropping

  1. Sounds like an interesting story!! Over on my blog I’m sharing the first line from Rakes and Roses by Josi S. Kilpack. Here I’ll share the first line from chapter nineteen.
    “When Sabrina returned to Wimbledon, she asked Therese to join her for afternoon tea so she could get an update.”

    Like

  2. Happy Friday! 🙂
    Today on my blog I’m sharing from Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey by Abigail Wilson. It’s an excellent novel! Currently I’m reading Unveiling the Past by Kim Vogel Sawyer. I’m on chapter 19, so I’ll post a line from there.
    “It shouldn’t surprise us that someone else lives at the address from 1998.”
    Hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. Happy Friday!
    This week on my blog I shared the first line from This Wandering Heart by Janine Rosche but I’m currently reading Of Literature and Lattes by Katherine Reay so I’ll share the first line from my current chapter (17) here: “Alyssa was sitting at her dad’s old desk sorting through her notes on Jeremy’s data when her mom walked through the back door and into the kitchen.” Hope you have a great reading weekend!

    Like

  4. Happy Friday! My first line is from “Stay With Me” by Becky Wade:

    “The hallway floor jolts downward beneath my feet, throwing me off balance.”

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.