Author Interview: Vivian Kay

Today, we welcome Vivian Kay, author of Secret Places. Vivian is a Nigerian, a Yoruba woman, who blends her faith and culture into her novels.

_________________________________________

About the book:

secret-places-coverAfter many years of happiness, Moni Badmus’s marriage is falling apart. Unwilling to lose her only child, a self-proclaimed daddy’s girl, to her husband in a custody settlement she goes along with his suggestion of an unconventional marriage intervention. Will Moni’s fear of losing what she holds dear take her to dark places she never imagined she would go?

Sam Badmus has lost his thirst for the things of God. For a while, his extramarital activities seemed to be a cure for his unsatisfying home life. But soon his risky behavior exacts a steep price and Sam has to turn to the God he left behind to save his family and maybe even his life.

Debo Ajala and his wife Adele are living the golden life or so it seems. Debo is a respected church deacon and Adele, a mother to their four adorable sons. Their lives couldn’t be better, that is until Adele’s feelings for another member of their church surface. Adele’s confession unleashes a series of events that Debo never expected. He escapes his troubled life by accepting a pastoral position in a city on the other side of Canada, but soon his twisted past catches up with him.

In this emotionally charged tale of sacrifice, temptation, and redemption, two couples learn sin has consequences and there is no place they can hide from the presence of God.

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and iTunes.

_______________________________________

About the Author:

vivian-kay-filaVivian Kay is a Christian fiction author whose faith stories are woven around the themes of human imperfection, redemption and transformation. When she’s not wr
iting or daydreaming about writing, you’ll find her playing simultaneous games of online Scrabble or snuggling up with a good book. Kay’s debut novel, Secret Places, was first published by Brown Girls Books (USA) in November 2015. A wife and mother, Kay lives in a quiet corner of Canada’s banana belt. She can be reached via her website www.viviankay.com. She can also be reached at:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/VivianKayAuthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/VivianKayAuthor
Instagram: https://instagram.com/viviankayauthor/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/VivianKayAuthor

__________________________________________

Interview:

Terri: We have seen a rise in African, particularly Nigerian, authors. What are the benefits and disadvantages of this spotlight?

Vivian: I think the spotlight has brought a lot of positives. There are millions of people in the world who’ve never been to Africa or have African friends. Since we share of ourselves in the stories we write, it’s a great way of inviting people into our part of the world. They get to understand that Africa is a huge continent, that even though our realities may be different from theirs, we share similar dreams and hopes. While there may be disadvantages, I can’t think of one.

Terri: I agree. I am excited to see so many have accepted the invitation to visit different cultures and races through the pages of a book, through stories. Storytelling is essential to so many cultures of the world.  Why do you believe that storytelling is so important?

Vivian: Storytelling is important to me because it’s how I process the happenings in my world. As a reader, I enjoy being entertained. I hope readers feel the same way about my stories.

Terri: Speaking of a story, Secret Places, your latest full length novel, has an interesting storyline, Christian swingers. It is a topic most wouldn’t expect from a Christian author. How did you get the idea for Secret Places?

Vivian: The main idea for Secret Places was sparked by a conversation at a friend’s home. Up to that moment, I didn’t know there were Christian swingers. The other ideas came as I became acquainted with my characters and the things important to them. I believe my ability to write is a gift from God. I could not have written the book without Him.

Terri: I applaud you for tackling such a hard subject but that is something God has gifted you to do in your writing and in your professional life. Most authors have a day job. What is yours and how does it impact your writing?

Vivian: I’m a therapist in children’s mental health. Self-awareness and empathy are important counseling skills. In my writing, they impact the way I interact with my characters and explore the issues important to them. My therapist and social work worldview also shape the types of stories I want to tell.

Terri: Your counseling skills show through in your writing and brings a richness to your writing. After they’ve devoured Secret Places, where can readers find more of your writing?

Vivian: In January 2017, I had published a novelette titled Knit Together. It’s available on Kindle, Kobo, Nook and in the Apple Store. There’s a paper edition.

Terri: Thank you so much for joining us today. I pray God continues to use you to hearts through your work as a writer and a therapist.

 

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Vivian Kay

  1. The cover caught my eye too! And I’ve never heard of Christian swingers. I scratch my head at that. The premise fascinates me… And kinda makes me cringe! As they say–like being unable to tear your eyes from a car accident on the side of the road.

    Like

Leave a Reply

